Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

2014-01-13T03:12:45+01:00

Debate emerges in Denver on Kevin Durant's shoes

Posted by

Ethics don't often scale well, so why outsource your charitable giving to a corporation? In the case of Toms, buy their shoes if they're what you want, but if you are only buying them because you care about children in need, then just buy the brand your heart truly desires and donate the equivalent amount or support manufacturing where those children live by buying shoes from Sole Rebels, Nisolo,I was going to Beijing to join a master's program in international development at Tsinghua University's School of Public Policy Split Zentai Suits and Management. or Oliberté Footwear.One of my resolutions for the New Year is only five words: buy less; donate more dollars. I'm not buying that $39 Product Red iPhone case, instead I'm donating directly to The Global Fund; rather than buying a new pair of shoes to advertise my charity on my feet, I'm making do with the shoes in my closet; instead of buying bottles of Ethos Water, I'm drinking from the tap.

It's not that I won't ever buy accessories or shoes or bottled drinks, though I do hope to buy less of everything this year, it's that when I do buy things I don't want to mistake my shopping for charity. I want my spending to reflect my ethics, not corporate gimmicks.Start with fiery Charred Octopus or the Guacamole Trio, which comes in tropical,Hiking shoe goat cheese and ranchero flavors.Denver has at least two players who routinely wear Durant's line of "KDs," forward Wilson Chandler and center Timofey Mozgov."We were actually having a conversation about that with the players," said Nuggets coach Brian Shaw. "When I came into the NBA in 1988, shortly after that,Jordan started with his Jordan One. They only made them in red, white and black, Bulls colors. I remember Nike wouldn't let you wear his shoes. They only let him wear it. You could order them through your account, but you couldn't wear them in games.

"And then, when they started making different colors, they started allowing guys to wear them in games. Obviously,Scientists can sound the alarm if the sensors buy christian louboutin and algorithms determine an earthquake is on the way. the most important thing is that it's a shoe that fits your foot and if you're comfortable in it then you'll want to wear it. But I always thought that that gave; like being on the Lakers, when guys would wear Kobe Bryant's shoes when we were playing against them, he always would, in his mind, feel 'I got him because he's wearing my shoes.' So the guys who do wear KD's, we were talking yesterday, 'Are you really going to wear those tomorrow when we play him?' So it was a debate back and forth about the comfort of the shoe as opposed to what message it sends when you're wearing a guy's shoes."

See comments

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
comments

Girl Gift Template by Ipietoon - Hosted by Overblog